This game was loved by many people, despite it not being a massive commercial success, and fans of it have been clamoring for a sequel or spiritual successor, for ANYTHING, for years now. After several crowdfunding failures and a legal dispute that killed Silicone Knights, we got a sort of demo in 2013.

Now in 2016, 3 years later, we’ve finally gotten a teaser trailer for spiritual successor Shadow of the Eternal from Denis Dyack’s new company, Quantum Entanglement Entertainment. And it’s nothing but recycled footage and assets from the demo they showed us in 2013. All of it. They don’t seem to have actually shown us anything new.

I, for one, would love to believe that it’s actually finally coming to us some time soon, because I’m a massive fan of anything Lovecraftian. But given their history when it’s come to these games, I’m not going to hold out any hope. Until they show us something more, I refuse to believe we’re any closer to the game.

“You woke me up for this?”