“I have an exceptionally healthy relationship with my therapist, so we should start there,” she told Individuals Wednesday night at the AFI Fest debut of her new Apple TV+ project, when asked how she sees the world nowadays. She continued, “I’m doing things with my Rare Impact Asset. I’m having these conversations, I’m meeting individuals.”

tvguidetime.com

“I went to the White House for the mental health culmination and … I’m wanting to be as proactive as I can,” Gomez added.

The Only Homicides in the Building actress also explained that filming the new documentary, which features minutes when she’s in London, Paris and Kenya, was a form of therapy.

“All of the things I was experiencing in Kenya were genuinely groundbreaking and moving, and it really was something that I felt like I connected with,” Gomez said.

“And then going into London and Paris, having those feelings and be in a particularly vain industry was really complicated.”

The documentary’s chief, Alek Keshishian, coordinated Selena in 2015 in her “Hands to Myself” music video, and has had a front-line seat to seeing the star develop. “She has really bloomed,” he told correspondents at the debut. “She went from, I think, feeling the strain of wanting to show what her can do in that transition from kid star to youthful adult artists. And I think there was a ton of pain involved in that transition. She’s experienced clearly extremely dark times, yet presently when I see her, she’s superior to I’ve at any point seen her.”

“I would always allude to Selena as the most reluctant pop star I’ve at any point met,” he continued, speaking with Individuals.

“She is not interested at all in the trappings or the kind of extras you get by being a pop star. She’s not interested in going to the most sultry restaurant.”

“She’s not interested in dropping her name to get things. She jumps at the chance to go to the local place in the Valley [that] she’s always gone to,” Keshishian added.

All of which has helped the Selena + Gourmet expert star to perceive her own place in the plan of things.

“Clearly I’m still here to utilize whatever I have to help someone else,” Gomez says in the documentary.

“Everything that I had gone through, it’s gonna be there. I’m simply making it my companion now … I realize this is the beginning for me.”

Selena Gomez: My Mind and Me debuts Friday on Apple TV+.